Vignettes

A Boutique Portrait Experience

Warrior? Me?

So it started as a simple get in better shape idea.  After all, it takes a lot of energy to capture wonderful portraits of your amazing children.

I had read about “Fitness on the Run” a personal training service in Old Town Alexandria, so when a new client’s email address was   denise@fitnessonthe run.net, I figured it was a sign.  Next thing I knew, I was her client as well.

Since every new endeavor  deserves a goal, I began to consider one for this… generic get in shape just  wasn’t going to keep me motivated.

I have friends who have done the Warrior Dash, a crazy three mile obstacle run.  I have NEVER done anything  like this, but it sure looks like crazy fun. And our oldest, Matthew , signed up with me, and so did two of our friends, Vicki and Todd.

Here is the disclaimer:

I understand that participating in Warrior Dash (Event) is an inherently dangerous activity that presents extreme obstacles, including, but not limited to, fire, mud pits, barbed wire, cargo nets, junk cars, climbing, heights, jumping into water, water crossings, steep hills and uneven terrain.

So here we go… Denise and Cristina at Fitness on the Run are getting me stronger by the week.  I am climbing ladders, and lifting weights, but no mud or barbed wire yet.  I will keep everyone posted…

We are also making this a fundraiser for St. Jude Children’s Hospital.

Go to http://www.mystjudeevent.com/katiegdc for details.  More to come, and wish us luck!

 

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 21, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
